All You Need to Know About the 2016 World Championship Qualification & How the World Championship System Works

All You Need to Know About the 2016 World Championship Qualification & How the World Championship System Works

With the World Championship slowly approaching, and the regional League playoffs coming to an end, the top teams from each region will try their best to earn a spot at the world championship. It is not easy to guarantee a spot, but there are multiple options for teams in several regions. Let us take a look at how teams from all regions can qualify to worlds!


Explaining the seeding

A word I will use a lot in the article is seed. I will mention two types of seeds, a regional seed and a draw seed. A regional seed tells which spot the team took to qualify for worlds. The best team usually takes the first regional seed, while the third team that qualifies for worlds gets the third regional seedDraw seeds are a bit different. The draw seed determines in which pool the team will be at the worlds draw. The teams with the first draw are in pool 1, the teams with the second draw seed are in pool 2, while the teams with the third draw seed are in pool 3. Riot actually changed the rules this year. The Mid Season Invitational tournament determined which regions get the first draw seeds. The regions that got top 4 in the MSI got first draw seeds for their region. China, Korea, LMS and NA were the top 4 at this year´s MSI so they have first seeds. EU doesn´t get the first seed since they didn´t finish in the top 4, so they will have two second draw seeds.

EU, NA LCS, China and Korea

The EU and NA LCS both have three spots at worlds, meaning there are three ways for teams to qualify to worlds. The team that wins the summer split wins the first seed, but EU doesn´t have the first spot since they performed poorly on MSI (they have two 2nd draw seeds). The first regional seed should generally mean you won´t be in a group with the best teams from other regions. Both EU and NA LCS have a Championship Points system. Each team that qualifies to the playoffs gets points based on how well they do in the playoffs. The teams get more points in summer than in spring. The second regional seed is determined by championship points. Championship points are deleted if the team falls into the relegation tournament (this happened to Origen in the summer split). The team with the most championship points by the end of summer split (not counting the team that won the summer split) automaticly gets the second regional seed. Championship points also determines the third spot in both regions. The remaining teams are seeded into a Gauntlet bracket. The four teams with most points (not counting the summer split winners and the team that qualified with the most points) get seeded based on points. The two teams with the least points get seeded in the first part of the bracket. They play a BO5 series, and the winner faces the team with the second most points. They again play a BO5 series, and the team that wins will face the last remaining team with the most points in another B05 bracket. The team that wins the last series qualifies for worlds as the third regional seed.



The LMS has only two regional seeds at the world championship. The first regional seed is determined by the winner of summer split. The LMS also has a championship points system. The remaining four teams based on points are seeded into a two-side bracket. The team with the most points faces the team with the least points, while the second team faces the third team. The winners of each match then face off against each other in a battle for the second regional seed at the 2016 World Championship. The first team is considered first draw seed, while the other is considered second draw seed.


LMS Logo Courtesy of Riot Games


Wildcard is a common name for the remaining leagues that aren’t big enough to have their own spot at worlds. This includes Brazil (CBLOL), Russia (LCL), Japan (LJL), Latin America Norte, Latin America Sur, Oceania (OPL), Turkey (TCL) and Southeast Asia (GPL). The teams that win the summer split or the entire league qualifies fort he International Wildcard Qualifier. The Wildcard regions have two spots similar to the LMS. The teams are then seeded into a single round robin. The top four teams with the best W-L record advance to the bracket stage. The first seed team (team with best W-L record) plays versus the fourth seed, while the second seed plays versus the third seed. The winners of each match qualify for the world championship as the two Wildcard seeds. Both teams are considered third draw seeds.


IWCL Logo Courtesy of Riot Games

The World Championship group draw

The World Championship group draw was done live in 2015 due to a fiasco in 2014 (some people stated the brackets were rigged). The draw scrambles the teams into four groups. Each group has one first seed team, two second seed teams and one third seed team.

The group stage

Each team plays each team twice in the group stage. The two teams with the best W-L record in each group advance to the bracket stage. If any teams in the group have the same W-L record, a tiebraker match is played to determine who gets the higher spot.

The bracket stage

Another draw is done before the bracket stage. Teams are put into two pools. The first seed teams (the ones with the highest W-L in their groups) are put in pool one, while the remaining teams are put in pool two. Each team from pool one gets drawn its match from pool two. The 8 teams battle in the quartefinal and the teams that win their matches advance to the semifinals. The winners of the semifinals proceed to the finals. The team that wins the finals becomes the 2016 World Champion.

I hope you have learned something new about the World Championship. It is the biggest events in competitive League of Legends and understanding how it works can really improve your experience.

The following two tabs change content below.